Carrot Cake Mug Cake

Easter is coming.

Carrot cake 2

It’s time to break out all things Easter!

Yesterday, we bought a HUGE tub of Jelly Belly jelly beans from Costco. Sooooo good. I don’t know about you, but that combo of SUGAR and ARTIFICIAL FLAVORING and DYES really gets me. Especially the Strawberry Jam flavor… oh man.

Carrot cake 1

Another favorite Easter food of mine is carrot cake. Who doesn’t like carrot cake? Probably a lot of people actually, but I am not one of them. I mean, there’s SUGAR and CINNAMON and CREAM CHEESE FROSTING. I’m mentally drooling just thinking about it. Cream cheese frosting is THE ONLY frosting in the world that is worth my time. Period.

Carrot cake 3

This carrot cake mug cake is deeeeeelishus. And it’s H-U-G-E. As in, I made this for breakfast (when I am starving) and I could barely finish it. HUGE, I’m tellin’ ya. HUGE.

Carrot cake 5

Carrot Cake Mug Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 Tbsp raw sugar
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • pinch each cinnamon, nutmeg, and dry ginger
  • 1/3 cup shredded carrot
  • 1/3 cup milk of choice
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp vinegar

Directions: In a small bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients, not including the carrot. Add the remaining wet ingredients. Scoop into a greased mug or ramekin and microwave for a minute and half. Frost with this icing or this one.


Carrot cake 4

-Emily

5 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Mug Cake

  1. I have to try this! Never done a cake in the microwave and carrot cake is my favorite! What is the vinager for? Never put vinegar in a cake mix either!

    • The vinegar is a trick I learned from Chocolate Covered Katie (LOVE) and basically what it does is it reacts with the baking soda, like a science-project volcano. The bubbles that are created REALLY help make whole wheat baked goods a lot fluffier and softer. And please don’t don’t DON’T be put off by the microwaviness of it all… it still tastes super good!
      -Emily

Leave a Reply

