Healthy Faux-reos

Homemade Oreos:

Homemade Oreos 1

I vividly remember the first time I ever created a cookie recipe. I was with my friend’s house (this friend, actually!) and we were both in eighth grade. This was in the beginning of my baking days, so obviously I didn’t have much experience with experimenting with recipes, much less creating new ones.Truth be told, I wasn’t expecting much.We had to use shortening instead of butter (a totally new experience for me!), and my friend’s oven didn’t have a signal for when it was done preheating! Two things going wrong in a recipe was a lot for me to handle then.

Homemade Oreos 2

You can imagine my shock when a tray of beautiful, pillowy snickerdoodles emerged from the oven several minutes later. I was amazed! I had actually created a successful recipe! My friend and I probably ate half the tray together. (Hey, what can I say? We were in emotional shock.) We handed the cookies out to everyone in our vicinity, trying to get everyone we could to marvel at our baking skills.

Homemade Oreos 3

 

Just this week, when I was creating this recipe, I experienced a similar sort of shock. The recipe was NOT working how I wanted it to, at all! The dough was too sticky, the filling too coconut-y, and the texture not crunchy. There was no way these cookies could possibly turn out well!

And then I tasted one.

And it was delicious.

I’m calling these sandwich cookies “Faux-reos” because, in all honesty, the flavor and texture of these cookies don’t closely resemble the store-bought version. But they were so yummmmmmmmmy (IMO) that I decided to post the recipe! But don’t worry, authentic Oreos have not yet been crossed off of my recipe to-do list!

Homemade Faux-reos

Cookie Ingredients:

  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour (145 g)
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (70 g)
  • 1 cup erythritol (200 g)
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted (40 g)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp stevia extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Filling Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, softened
  • 2/3 cup powdered erythritol (95 g)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions: In a large bowl, mix together all dry cookie ingredients. Add wet and stir until combined. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Dump dough onto the baking sheet and cover with a congruent (go geometry!) piece of parchment paper. Using a rolling pin or pastry roller, roll the dough into a 1/4 inch-thick rectangle. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours. When done chilling, remove top layer of parchment paper and preheat oven to 350º. Using an approximately 2 1/2″ diameter cookie cutter, cut out 28 cookies. Bake for ~8 minutes. Let cool completely. For the filling: After baking and cooling, mix together all filling ingredients and frost cookies! You can use a piping bag (what I did) or, if you want to save time, you can try just spooning the filling onto the cookies. If the filling is too liquid-y, just refrigerate it for a couple minutes. Makes 19 sandwiches


Here are the nutrition facts:

oreo nutrition

 

(Info is for one sandwich and DOES include the filling, of course!)

Homemade Oreos 4

Homemade Oreos 5

Perfect with a glass of cold milk!

-Emily

2 thoughts on “Healthy Faux-reos

  1. Emily, I love reading your posts, and admire your creativity! As you may know, we are in Spain, and finding food is a challenge. Restaurants seem to be closed, or open but serving only drinks when we want to eat, so we end up going to the store and getting things to eat at home! Love, Aunt Jacki

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

