Banana Chocolate Ice Cream

Time for a moment of transparency:

IMG_0287

I was at first very skeptical about this ice cream.

Most healthy ice creams are based on either cashew cream or coconut milk. Seeing as I had no cashews, I had only one other option to satisfy my ice cream needs wants: coconut milk. Enter the reason why I was skeptical:

I despise coconut milk.

IMG_0289

I CANNOT STAND the flavor of canned coconut milk. The taste reminds me of something rotten or spoiled. Yuck. But I didn’t have any other option to immediately satisfy my banana ice cream cravings, and there was a stray can of coconut milk in the fridge. (Sure, I could have made that “frozen banana soft-serve” stuff that’s on basically every health food blog that exists. But 1) it isn’t very authentic and 2) I was in a creative mood.)

IMG_0291

So I popped open the can of coconut milk and began mixing up my ice cream batter. I poured it into my ice cream maker, churned it, and guess what?

THE RESULT WAS AMAZING!!!

IMG_0302

Banana Chocolate Ice Cream

Ingredients:

  • One 14 oz can coconut milk* (see notes below)
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup xylitol or erythritol
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 2 medium mashed bananas, about 1 cup (210 g)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp stevia extract
  • Tiny pinch salt
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips, melted

Directions: In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except chocolate chips. Pour in ice cream machine prepared as directed and churn. About 5 minutes into churning, slowly drizzle the chocolate into the (still churning) mixture. When the ice cream is done churning (after about 15 minutes) scoop mixture into a container. Store in the freezer. Enjoy!

*Notes: The good thing about this recipe is that the cream and the water don’t need to be separated, meaning you don’t need to waste money on inconsistent cans of where the cream and the water mix together.. My can of coconut milk was just like described: milk. If your coconut cream and water are separated, just mix them back together to form a soupy liquid.


IMG_0290

That is some serious, creamy deliciousness right there.

-Emily

 

One thought on “Banana Chocolate Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Pancakes with Sautéed Bananas |

Leave a Reply

