Chocolate Cherry Boatmeal (Twice Baked!)

This is not your average boatmeal.

IMG_0268

That’s not in a bad way, of course. I wouldn’t ever purposely post any bad recipes, you know! Nope, even though these boatmeals are slightly different from average, they taste AH-MAZING!

IMG_0264

 

Some of you might be wondering what these “boatmeals” are that I speak of. Yeahhhh, I too was kinda confused when I first heard of them. First I thought boatmeal was oatmeal shaped like a boat (???) or something, but as I grew more experienced with food blog lingo, I learned that “boatmeal” was a kind of portmanteau for Baked + Oatmeal.

Still, whenever I read a boatmeal recipe I think of boats.

IMG_0269

 

I baked my boatmeal in one of these mini springform pans that I got as a birthday present. Them springform pans are super handy and CRAZY adorable! As you can see, the bottom of the pan is still on the boatmeal. That happens when you’re hungry and don’t want to wait any longer for your boatmeal to cool yet your boatmeal is still to fragile for it to be removed from the bottom of the pan. If you’ve never experienced this before, I’ll tell you right now it’s quite a dilemma….

And now for my favorite part of the recipe! You probably noticed the icing all over the cake. Yeah, I’m posting the recipe for that! It’s SOOOOO DELICIOUS that I would’ve felt selfish and cruel if I hadn’t posted it. Because guess what flavor it is! I’ll give you a hint: it’s a flavor combo you may have not thought of but once you know what it is you’ll wonder why you haven’t made a billion recipes in this flavor yet.

(Ok now guess!)

(Come on, keep guessing!)

Still don’t know yet?

Well, you’ll have to read on to find out!

IMG_02642

 

The flavor is….

MARSHMALLOW CHEESECAKE!

You just gasped, didn’t you? Because I totally did. It’s insanely drool-worthy.

 


 

Chocolate Cherry Boatmeal with Marshmallow Cheesecake Glaze

For the boatmeal:

  • 1/2 cup (50 g) rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup (77 g) frozen cherries
  • 1 tsp erythritol or other granulated sweetener
  • “Optional”: Chocolate chips galore!

For the glaze:

  • 1 1/2 Tbsp whipped cream cheese
  • 1/2 Tbsp erythritol or other granulated sweetener
  • 1 Tbsp almond milk (or less for a thicker frosting)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/32 tsp salt

 

Directions: Preheat the oven to 350º. On the stove top, cook the oatmeal with 1 cup boiling water for three minutes. Remove the pot from heat and place a lid on it for 5 minutes. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, thaw the frozen cherries for ~20 seconds in the microwave, chop into pieces, and smash with the bottom of a fork or spoon. Add the remaining boatmeal ingredients, including the cooked oatmeal. Pour into a greased ramekin or mini springform pan and bake for 15 minutes. Let cool about 10 minutes. Meanwhile, combine all the ingredients for the glaze (it will be lumpy). Pour on top of boatmeal, serve, and enjoy!


 

Screen Shot 2014-08-11 at 9.42.12 AM

(Nutrition info is for the entire recipe and DOES include the chocolate chips and all of the icing!)

I couldn’t believe there were only 280 calories for the ENTIRE RECIPE, chocolate chips and icing included! And trust me, this boatmeal is NOT a skimpy serving. I could barely finish it! That goes for the glaze as well… I ate multiple spoonfuls straight up and there was still plenty left to frost the cake!

Soooo… I think you will be making this for breakfast, yes?

(Yes!)

-Emily

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cherry Boatmeal (Twice Baked!)

  1. Pingback: Carrot Cake Mug Cake |

Leave a Reply

