The Quibbler + Healthy Yellow Cake!

I had a dilemma today.

graphics_CKI_horizontal stripes7467_CMYK(Click to enlarge and print)

Should I post a snippet about a Harry Potter poster I made? Or should I post my new healthy yellow cake recipe?

Decisions, decisions…

IMG_20140730_081749_869

 

But as I was Pinterest surfing, I realized that I could do both and it would make perfect sense! Because, for all of you who don’t know, today (July 31) is Harry Potter’s birthday. While it might seem silly to you to celebrate the birthday of a [sadly] fictional character, I don’t think it is. I’ll be super honest – the Harry Potter series taught me a lot. Harry, Ron, and Hermione taught me about strength and hope; Dumbledore taught me about love and friendship; Neville taught me about loyalty and courage. For me the list of things you could learn from Harry Potter goes on and on.

IMG_20140730_081812_090

 

So, yes, we are here to celebrate Harry’s birthday with a cool “Quibbler” poster I made (for those of you who don’t know, The Quibbler is a magazine in Harry Potter) and some healthy yellow cake! If I had a butterbeer recipe I would post that instead… but I don’t. Oh well, I’ll just have to put it on my to-do list!

I made my Quibbler poster using a website called pixlr.com. I basically copied and pasted and typed and filtered on top of a big stripe background. It wasn’t very easy, but it was fun! I might make another sometime soon. The inspiration I got was from here and here.

IMG_20140730_081916_229

 

And now for the cake recipe! That’s the main reason you came here, right? 🙂 This was probably one of the best cakes I have ever had. It’s super soft despite being whole wheat, satisfyingly sweet even though it’s low in sugar, and super moist and buttery even when there isn’t a speck of butter in sight! Crazy, no? And the frosting! THE FROSTING!! It’s super light and fluffy and chocolatey and AMAZING!! However if you want to use a different frosting I understand (kind of).

Healthy Yellow Cake

Dry:

  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour (240 g)
  • 1 Tbsp baking posder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup xylitol or erythritol (I did a 50-50 mixture)
  • 2 Tbsp raw sugar

Wet:

  • 1 1/3 cups milk of choice (320 g)
  • 2 Tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg (50 g)
  • 1/4 melted coconut or canola oil (50 g)
  • 1/2 tsp stevia extract
  • 1 tsp butter extract

Frosting:

  • 9 oz silken firm tofu (I recommend Mori-Nu)
  • 3 oz bittersweet chocolate, melted
  • 1 1/2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch stevia extract, or to taste

Preheat oven to 350º. Prepare two 9″ round cake pans by thoroughly greasing and lining the bottom with a circle of parchment paper. In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients and set aside. In a separate bowl, combine wet ingredients and dump into dry. Mix until combined (batter will be slightly lumpy). Evenly distribute the batter between the two pans and bake for 22 minutes, or until golden brown. Meanwhile, while the cake is cooling, dump all the frosting ingredients into a blender (I used a Vita-Mix) and blend until smooth.

To frost the cake: Use a knife and gently go around the sides of the pan. Turn the pan upside-down and set top of a cutting board or other flat surface. Tap the bottom until the cake is loosened and falls out. Discard the parchment paper. Place the first layer on the cake stand and frost. Repeat this process with the second layer, this time frosting the entire outside of the cake. Cut and serve!

Adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie.


 

IMG_20140730_081956_197

I’m gonna have to be honest (again)… this was the first round layer cake I have ever made! It turned out much better than I had hoped. I hope yours does too!

Cheers!

-Emily

Leave a Reply

