Turn Your Photo Into a Painting!

It’s been a while since I last posted! This is mainly because yesterday I got back from a trip to Door County, Wisconsin. If you’ve never been there you should go! It’s definitely one of the most beautiful, rugged places I’ve been to.

collage

 

I got some GREAT photos at Door County, despite the fact they were all taken with my phone. Like seriously, EVERYTHING there is beautiful. It’s kinda crazy. So I was inspired by these photos to do some painting (I really don’t know why, truthfully I rarely paint) and I figured, why not do paintings of the photos I took?

turn photo into painting

I’m so glad I did!


 

Photo to Painting Tutorial

You will need:

  • A photo
  • One canvas, roughly the same dimensions as your photo
  • Acrylic paint
  • Paintbrushes
  • Pencil with eraser
  • Ruler

Edit your photo so it looks how you want it to in the painting.

Print out your photo, cropping/scaling it as necessary so it will fit your canvas.

print out photo

 

 

Using your ruler and pencil, draw boxes on your canvas (It doesn’t matter how many; I got about fifteen).

draw boxes

 

 

Place your canvas so that it is in line with the boxes and all of the photo you want in the painting is covered. Trace the boxes lightly onto the canvas.

match canvas to phtoto wo #s

 

 

Number all the boxes that you traced out onto your canvas. This is just so you can remember what boxes to paint.

number boxes

 

 

Lightly sketch out the outlines of your painting onto your canvas.

sketch out on canvas

 

 

Now get out your paints and brushes and start painting!

Note: you should probably erase your pencil marks as you go, unless you are working with very thick or dark paints.

You are done!

finished

 


 

Pretty easy, right? I gotta admit, even I, with my limited painting knowledge, found this really easy! This is a perfect project that can take anywhere from 10 minutes to multiple hours, depending on your photo and painting skills. So what are you waiting for? Go find your favorite photo and get painting!

-Emily

 

Leave a Reply

