Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Mug Cake

 

mug cake font

Do you like Reese’s candy?

MUG CAKE FULL

For some reasons, I was never a huge fan of the candy. The peanut butter cups were always so big and awkward. I could never eat the entire cup in one bite, yet holding half of a chocolate candy without a wrapper was never a good option either unless you wanted chocolate all over your fingers. I say “without a wrapper” because the weird cardboard bottom + sticky/messy wrapper with pokey edges always made me discard the extra packaging ASAP because it was just too awkward for my little hands to hold it all.

(I can’t believe I just typed 93 words on why I didn’t like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups…)

MUGcake bite

Don’t get me wrong though! I was and am to this day in love with the PB + Chocolate combo (who isn’t?) so I decided to assuage my craving with this delicious yet healthy mug cake! And yes, I did eat it for breakfast.

Peanut Butter-stuffed Mug Cake Filling:

  • 2 Tbsp peanut flour (or PB2)
  • 1 tsp chia (or flax) meal
  • 2 Tbsp water

Dough:

  • 3 Tbsp white whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp raw sugar (or other granulated sweetener)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • scant 1/16 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp stevia extract, or perhaps 1 1/2 Tbsp more sugar of choice

Directions: In a small bowl, mix together filling ingredients and set aside. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, combing all dry ingredients for dough. Add wet and stir until combined. Grease a medium-sized ramekin thoroughly. Scoop half the dough into the ramekin, then top with filling (Do not spread the filling! Keep it as one big plop). Arrange remaining dough around and on top of filling. Microwave ~1:20, or until the top is no longer wet. Enjoy!

Inspired by Chocolate Covered Katie.


You know what’s up! It’s time for a nutritional showdown!

Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 9.35.31 AM Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 9.37.34 AM

 

The unhealthy mug cake recipe is on the left, mine is on the right.

I think we can all tell whose is better! Mine has 5 g more protein, 7 g more fiber, 24 g less fat, and less than half the calories! Plus, mine is vegan. So I think you can stop giving me “the look” when I say that I ate this for breakfast. 🙂

200_s

Be gone, disapproval face!

-Emily

One thought on “Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Mug Cake

  1. Pingback: 7 Healthy Peanut Butter Chocolate Recipes |

Leave a Reply

